YIAGA AFRICA’s Executive Director, Samson Itodo, was honoured with the prestigious Ten Outstanding Young Persons (TOYP) of Nigeria Award conferred by the Junior Chamber International (JCI) in a remarkable event that took place at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Lagos, yesterday, 20th August 2019. 

Receiving the award at the event, Samson Itodo stated that he accepts the award “on behalf of every Nigerian youth who asked their lawmakers to vote in support of the Not Too Young To Run” bill, signed into the Nigerian constitution on May 31st, last year. Itodo has continued to serve Nigerian youths as the convener of the Not Too Young To Run Movement, which led the successful advocacy for the reduction of age limits for running for public office in the Nigerian constitution. Over the last 12 years, Itodo and the team he leads at YIAGA AFRICA, have been dedicated to building strong democratic institutions, promoting people-centred legislation and policies, as well as building a community of active citizens to drive social change in Africa.

Samson Itodo (Right), receiving the 2019 Junior Chambers International Ten Outstanding Young Persons of Nigeria Award.

According to the JCI president, Adeola Juyitan, the TOYP is awarded annually to honour young Nigerians, under 40 years old, for their hard work and exemplary leadership in different sectors of society. Samson Itodo received the award  under the category of Political, Legal and/Government Affairs, alongside nine other young Nigerians who have excelled in their chosen field of endeavours and created positive impact in their communities.

Other notable honourees, selected from nearly two thousand nominations this year, include: Adeola Adefemi (Academic Leadership and/or Accomplishment), Glory Osei (Business, Economics and Entrepreneurship), Naomi Ekpoki (Children, World Peace and/or Human Rights), Folarin Falana (Cultural Achievement), Oluwaseun Osowobi (Humanitarian and/or Voluntary Leadership), Temi Giwa Tubosun (Medical Innovation), Bilikiss Adebiyi-Abiola (Moral and/or Environmental Leadership), Lauretta Onye (Personal Development) and Onyeka Akumah (Scientific and/or Technological Development).